When the Children Cry (Part One)

Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth: Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the LORD thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me; And shewing mercy unto thousands of them that love me, and keep my commandments.
Exodus 20:4-6 KJV

I trust that most of you are like me when it comes to seeing suffering. I hate to see people suffer. That suffering can be health, finance or crime. No matter what it is I hate to see people suffer.

I especially hate to see children suffer. I have to be honest and admit that I often ask “Lord, why do even the children have to suffer?”Maybe you have asked the same question. In this Chapter I will attempt to answer some of those questions as best I can.

Our first Picture Of Elijah's Smile

My wife and I were at the hospital when my sister was due to deliver her baby. My sister had a long labor. It was so long we had to leave before the baby came. We made it back after our newest niece was born. We wanted to see the wonderful blessing God had given our family. We thanked God that though my sister went through a long labor there were no complications and we had a healthy addition to our family.

Unfortunately it does not always go that way. In fact there was another family in the same hospital at the same time that seemed to get a different result. Obviously we were not aware of everything that went on. It was not our business but we gathered from the family’s attitude as they left the hospital that the child they were expecting had died. As the grandmother of this child left the hospital she looked towards heaven and with sarcasm dripping from her lips said something similar to thanks for nothing God. I can understand why she was grieving. I feel great compassion for not only her but everyone who has to either watch their precious baby suffer or even die.

Yesterday a blog was forwarded to me via twitter. This particular blogger has suffered the loss of a child. The blog post she forwarded was entitled “Making Memories With A Terminally Ill Baby.” I was reluctant to read it but I did. By about paragraph three I was weeping. I finished reading it hoping for a miracle. One never came. Thirty minutes later I was still weepy. I have asked permission to re-post the blog. If I get it I will add a link. Be prepared though.

At church recently one of our members asked prayer for a family that was also expecting bad news about their baby. The story broke my heart as she told it. The mother had experienced issues during the pregnancy but every indicator was that she was carrying a healthy baby. Then near the end of the pregnancy the doctors began to see some troubling signs. They started to prepare the family for the strong possibility something was wrong with their baby. Then it got worse. The doctors said they did not think the baby would survive.

The baby was born. The doctors still held little hope the little guy would survive. They said maybe a few days but not more than that. Prayers started going up for the baby. At this point the baby is at about day five and indications are that the problems are not nearly as severe as had been expected.

Elijah in the NICU. Thank God this didn't last long. Others aren't so fortunate

These are just a few situations I have heard of. You have probably heard of more. You may even have your own story.

It gets worse though. I have not even mentioned the children who suffer and die en masse in underdeveloped countries. I have not even mentioned the children who are abused and even murdered. I have not even touched on abortion which is nothing short of murdering our own children.

So whose fault is it that so many children suffer. Was the grandmother right to blame God? While it is true he could have prevented any and all of these situations is it his fault these situations happened? Why didn’t he then? Is the ability to prevent or correct  a problem the same as being responsible for creating the problem? Or is the answer something deeper?

Click here to begin to find what I consider the answer

About aldaraan

I am a Missionary Baptist Pastor, a husband and a father. I love my God, my church, my family and my country.

Posted on October 19, 2011, in When The Children Cry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Whenever any child or baby suffers or dies, it causes such heartache & grief. It can seem so hopeless to ever feel joy again. But the couple who’s blog post you refer to, have found a way to go on and to work through all the ugly stuff and have great joy and peace. Knowing that a child is with the heavenly Father who originally breathed life into them is so comforting. Thank you so much for this post and thank you for loving children so much. It’s an inspiration!
    Blessings,
    ~Erin
    http://www.mynuggetsoftruth.blogspot.com

  2. Thank you for stopping by Erin. My first thought when someone loses a child is David’s words upon the loss of his child, I cannot bring him back but I can to be with him.

Tell me what you think

