Mr Cowfish (Part Three)

If you haven’t read the previous installments of Mr Cowfish here’s a link https://thebookofelijah.wordpress.com/2011/10/17/mr-cowfish/

When we realized Mr Cowfish was gone we had no idea where he went. We just knew he was gone. My first thought was it was no big deal. I didn’t care much for him anway. But Elijah did. So as a father I began trying to figure out what had happened to Elijah’s lost toy. We pinned it down to he had to be at Culvers and he was. Just as we were heading out the door he had jumped out of the diaper bag or Elijah’s hands. I have no idea what he was thinking but it was certainly not a good decision on his part. Fortunately for him, and Elijah, the wonderful staff of Culvers had found him and kept him safe. We returned Sunday after to church to reclaim him.

Another time we were at Texas Roadhouse. As we were getting ready to head in, grabbing everything we needed to feed Elijah and keep him occupied while we ate, Mr Cowfish decided to strike out on his own again. Again we did not realize what he had done.

We came back out of the restaurant and it was starting to sprinkle. As we neared our Pacifica we found a surprise. There on top of the car was Mr Cowfish. Apparently he decided to get back in and was unable. Or more likely, someone saw him on the ground and the child safety seat in our car and decided he belonged to us. Thank you kind person! Even though I did not care much for him at first and I am still not overly fond of him, I never play with him or anything like that, I would hate to lose Mr Cowfish.

As I thought about Mr Cowfish and his misadventures I considered my own relationship with God. Surely I am a bit like him. God is perfect. I am by nature and choice a sinner. There is nothing about me that would make me beautiful to him. Like Mr Cowfish God wants to take me places but I often jump ship to strike out on my own. Like Mr Cowfish in the parking lot I could have easily been considered trash, just something to be thrown away as they cleansed the parking lot at Texas Roadhouse. Because of my nature and my choices God would have been well within his rights to just say, “Oh Well. I guess Mr Cowfish is gone. Good riddance I never like him anway!”

Here's a secret, we don't really call him Elijah. We call him bubby! Sorry Elijah

But he did not do that. Why? Because I have a relationship with his Son. I belong to his son. Because I belong to the Son I have found acceptance with the father.

It’s like this, years ago before my wife and I were married her family did not care much for me. They had their reasons, some good and some bad. Since those early days I think they have come to know me better and see past my faults. But in those early days I did not like to be around them too much. I knew how they had to feel. I knew that some of their feelings were justified that I was indeed guilty of the things they thought of me. Still, when I went to their gatherings they treated me right. They were not rude to me. They tried to welcome me in spite of what their feelings might have been. Why? They loved Tracy. I was Tracy’s. Because of her I found acceptance with them. Just like I have found acceptance with the Father because I belong to his Son. His son has purchased me!

Even when I am jumping out of God’s will he comes looking for me. Even though I am not attractive because of my sinful nature he keeps me safe. And this keeping is not just because of his love for the Son. Through his Son he has come to love me just as through my son I have come to love Mr Cowfish. And it goes beyond that. Because of the love the Father has for the Son, the respect for his death on the cross, he not only loves me, he calls me his son.
Thank you God for loving all the Cowfishs, both Mr and Mrs of this world.

Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God: therefore the world knoweth us not, because it knew him not.
1 John 3:1 KJV

About aldaraan

I am a Missionary Baptist Pastor, a husband and a father. I love my God, my church, my family and my country.

Posted on October 18, 2011, in Mr Cowfish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think

